Who we are

Amref Health Africa is and Africa founded International organization with headquarter in Nairobi, Kenya, and has country programmes and offices in seven African countries: Ethiopia, Kenya, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Senegal and South Sudan, and 10 National Offices in Europe and North America. 


Amref Health Africa’s presence in South Sudan dates back to the early 1970s, just after the end of the first civil war of 17 years (1955-1972). The first Amref Health Africa project was a Primary Health Care Project (PHCP) to reach rural populations as until then major healthcare interventions were delivered through urban-centred institutions. 


Amref Health Africa then undertook the implementation of a Rural Health Support Project (RHSP) from 1982–1990. Moreover, Amref Health Africa has implemented several health infrastructure improvement initiatives all over South Sudan including Health work force development.